by Jargon Writer

Writing my way to becoming a freelancer

Getting Started as a Home-based Writer (chap 1)

In chapter 1, Parker discusses a number of important ideas – but many of them are ones I’ve heard before. Namely, “Until you make it, fake it,” the idea that corporate writing is the best way to pay the bills, and networking. However, there were also quite a few new useful tidbits.

She discusses:
-How to gain skills you don’t have
-How to gain professional associations
-The importance writers writing a business plan & looking into legal requirements

I’ve used this first chapter to set myself a series of goals (see my goals page, which will be updated regularly).

I’m going to continue applying to freelance jobs that have been posted online and work on a business plan outline. I’ll keep you (and whoever reads this) up-to-date on my progress and what’s going on!

January 28, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. How do you become a freelance writer? I have a deep love for writing and would love an opportunity to have a path of direction. I currently work for a family medicine as a patient coordinator and this isnt my lifetime achievement award per say. I would love to do something that inspires me and give me that Whoa factor

    Comment by brandi | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • Hi Brandi! Great question. Unfortunately, I don’t have the whole answer for you, as I’m still in the process of doing this myself. However, freelancing is definitely something you can do part-time, even while working as a patient coordinator. I would recommend finding something you’re an expert at and beginning by pitching an article to a trade magazine (maybe a medical trade publication?). I would also recommend picking up a book or two to help you learn a little more about freelancing. One of my favorites is Get A Freelance Life, by Margit Feury Ragland, and endorsed by Mediabistro.com, with a forward by Media Bistro founder Laurel Touby.

      It discusses all the major questions a freelancer faces, and provides simple, understandable answers. The final section of the book is how to deal with the business end of being a freelancer – something many people forget IS part of being self-employed. It has all sorts of helpful lists, including a list of websites freelancers can use, a section on contracts, what to do, what NOT to do … it covers everything from how to write your first pitch to how to negotiate the best kind of contracts. I’ve read it cover to cover, and have pages highlighted, dog-eared, and have post-it tabs sticking out the top.

      The book I’m working my way through here on the blog is also great – check out my about page for its info. And be sure to let me know if you have any more questions! Following my blog seems like a great way for you to learn more about freelancing.

      Comment by mbreau | February 4, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

